I Am Keeping My Heart Open

Marlena Tillhon MSc
2 min readJun 1, 2023

--

Photo by Fallon Michael on Unsplash

I’m keeping my heart open

Despite the cruel words that pass your lips

Despite the looks that cannot contain your disappointment with me

A projection of your own failings

Because you know that you didn’t love me right

But you do not own your pain

You push it onto me

And I refuse to carry it for you

I have not come this far to shut down again

To protect myself from you and your fear of love

I am keeping my heart open

I am here to love

I am here to feel

Your fears won’t shackle me to you

Or your pain

I am keeping my heart open

Even when it feels like it is tearing me apart

Because I know that there’s more to life than your pain

Disguised as love that cuts so deep it makes me lose myself

In the whirlwind of your moods and distortions

Of me, my love and who I am

I refuse to see myself through the lens of your pain

And instead, I will stay true to myself

And I will keep my heart open

To embrace everything that is yet to come

The love I have yet to experience

The life I have yet to live

And the freedom that I have fought so hard to reclaim

I am keeping my heart open

Despite of you

And for me

by Marlena Tillhon, 2023

--

--

Marlena Tillhon MSc

Epic Love Relationships & Aligned Partner Choices through Inner Healing & Self-Mastery - follow me on IG @lovewithclarity and visit me on www.epiclove.me